New headquarters for Office of Northern Australia

Wednesday, 23 December 2015

On 18 December 2015 the Minister for Resources, Energy and Northern Australia, the Hon Josh Frydenberg MP, announced the new Office of Northern Australia (ONA) headquarters in Darwin.

A key commitment in the White Paper on Developing Northern Australia was to relocate ONA from Canberra to northern Australia. The new ONA office will be located in Development House on the Esplanade, and will be fully operational from 18 January 2016.

Minister Frydenberg also welcomed the recent appointment of its new head, Mark Coffey. Mr Coffey has significant public sector experience, having recently been Regional Manager for Central Australia in the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet. He will play a significant role in helping the Government to deliver its northern Australia strategy.

Mr Coffey was joined by Natasha Griggs MP, Member for Solomon, business and industry leaders, as well as Commonwealth, Territory and Local Government officials, at a small event at Development House on Friday 18 December to mark the occasion.

Luke Bowen, Natasha Griggs MP and Mark Coffey at the launch of the new ONA headquarters in Darwin

Photo caption: Luke Bowen, General Manager, Northern Australia Development Office, Natasha Griggs MP, Member for Solomon, Northern Territory and Mark Coffey, Head, Office of Northern Australia, at the launch of the new ONA headquarters in Darwin.
Photo credit: Rebecca Weller, Northern Australia Development Office